Lesson 6: Assignment 2

1.)    I follow an Indian culture. Being raised in an Indian household, my parents have imbedded many Indian values in my which are very different from other culture. Yet at the same time, I have had an influence from the Western values. In the Indian culture, we have a different set of language, rituals, beliefs, food and ideas. I am bi lingual in the way that I speak both the Indian language as well as English. We have a lot of different beliefs and ideas. I speak another language called Gujarati and we eat food that’s very different from American cuisine. Also there are different cultural parts. For example, family is very important. In majority of Indian culture, we live in joint families. While growing up, I lived with my grandparents (my dad’s parents), my parents and brother. It was very normal to have grandparents living with us. Although, in my case since I was brought up here I would not go for something of that since I follow a more modern point of view.

2.)    The three most important values I have learnt are family and friends are everything, respect is key and you must forgive and forget. These are the three important values I live upon. I make my friends and family my motivation for succeeding as well as always being there for them when they need me. It’s best to surround yourself with people who love and support you. It will keep me happy and successful always. I also feel that respect is everything. In order to be respected, you must be able to respect yourself and others around you. Everyone deserves respect regardless of age. Third, you must forgive and forget. There is no need to cry over the past or fight over it. We must make peace with our past for our own sake. It will let us to live happier. These values are based upon my culture. Family is a key part of my culture which is why I value it significantly and so is respect. The last value has been my own creation through my own experience.

3.)    My ethics, are my way of life. It is the codes I follow in order to be the best person I can be. I believe in loyalty to everyone. If someone has done no harm to me then I feel like I should be nice and respectful to them. To the people who have hurt me, I learn from it and just move on. I never try to spend time wasting over being sad or mad. Life is not worth it then. Also, I follow an ethical key point of trying to live in the present and not to dwell in the past or think too much about the future. These are important ideas I keep in mind in order to be happy. I fall a little bit with each philosopher. But I definitely agree with Aristotle 100%. We should strive to follow personal happiness, it is very important in life. 

One thought on “Lesson 6: Assignment 2

Leave a comment